Our Staff and Board


Board of Directors 2020-2021

Allan M. Brandt
Professor Brandt is the Amalie Moses Kass Professor of the History of Medicine and Professor of the History of Science.  He holds a joint appointment between the Faculty of Arts and Sciences and Harvard Medical School.  Brandt served as Dean of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences from 2008 to 2012.  His book on the social and cultural history of cigarette smoking in the U.S., The Cigarette Century: The Rise, Fall, and Deadly Persistence of the Product that Defined America, was published by Basic Books in 2007 (paperback, 2009).   The book received the Bancroft Prize from Columbia University in 2008 and the Welch Medal from the American Association for the History of Medicine in 2011.  Brandt has been elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He is currently writing about the impact stigma has on patients and health outcomes.

Richard Daynard (President, Voting ex-officio Board Member)
Professor Daynard is at the forefront of an international movement to establish the legal responsibility of the tobacco industry for tobacco-induced death, disease and disability. He is president of the law school’s Public Health Advocacy Institute and chair of its Tobacco Products Liability Project. He is also an international leader in combating the obesity epidemic. Professor Daynard has written or co-authored more than 80 articles. He teaches in the areas of public health law, strategic litigation and interdisciplinary studies. Professor Daynard has lectured about legal issues in the control of tobacco and obesity in 50 countries, and has chaired 25 national and international conferences on these subjects.  He is a University Distinguished Professor of Law at Northeastern University.

Dr. Blake Cady (Board Chair)
Dr. Cady’s major academic interests have been in the biological behavior of cancer and the coordination of multidisciplinary treatments of cancer in a balanced fashion so that radical treatments are utilized in advanced cancers and simplified treatments in early and low risk cancers. He has been President of the New England Cancer Society, New England Surgical Society, the Society of Surgical Oncology, the American Association of Endocrine Surgery, the Boston Surgical Society and the Massachusetts Division of the American Cancer Society. He received the annual Distinguished Award of the American Cancer Society and the Lemuel Shattuck Medal of the Massachusetts Public Health Association on two occasions for activities in Tobacco Control.

Jon D. Hanson
Professor Hanson is the Alfred Smart Professor of Law, the Faculty Director of The Systemic Justice Project , and the Director of The Project on Law and Mind Sciences at Harvard Law School. His teaching and scholarship melds social psychology, social cognition, economics, history, and law. Hanson has received several teaching awards and is the faculty leader for 1L Section Six. Hanson’s recent scholarship includes the book, Ideology, Psychology, and Law(Oxford University Press). His current projects focus on systemic injustice and the role of implicit motives in shaping policy.

James Hyde (Board Clerk)
Professor Hyde has worked extensively at the state and local levels of public health as well as in academic settings. He has focused on public health and public policy in a broad range of areas including child abuse and neglect, environmental health policy, tobacco control policy, and most recently Hepatitis C. His work on risk communication and public health practice during “chaos events” continues to receive wide recognition in the public health community and beyond. He is Associate Professor Emeritus of Public Health and Community Medicine at Tufts University School of Medicine.

Ben Kelley (Treasurer)
Mr. Kelley has worked in the field of injury control for more than 30 years as an educator, researcher, author, expert witness and historian. His concerns embrace product-safety policies of government and industry, advertising claims for dangerous products, inadequate safety standards, and the public health consequences of product injuries, among others. A former official of the U.S. Department of Transportation, he was a principal architect of the world-renowned vehicle safety research and communications program of the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, where he served as a senior officer for fifteen years. Later, as president of the Institute for Injury Reduction, he led efforts to document motor vehicle and other hazardous products and to inform the public about their lack of safety. He is Director of Injury Control Policy at the Trauma Foundation.

Nancy Reiner
Ms. Reiner is Managing Director for the legal search firm of Major, Lindsey & Africa.   Ms. Reiner has more than 30 years of experience practicing law in the Boston area. She served as a partner in Brown Rudnick’s litigation department, where she originated the Commonwealth of Massachusetts v. Philip Morris, et al. tobacco case, which resulted in an $8.3 billion settlement for the state. Among other distinguished work, she settled several multi-million-dollar environmental insurance recovery cases and led the discovery on behalf of the Commonwealth of more than six million documents in the tobacco case. Ms. Reiner was recognized as a Boston ‘Super Lawyer’ in 2004 and 2005, is Martindale-Hubbell AV Peer Review Rated, and is a former Adjunct Professor (Mediation in the Public Interest) at Northeastern University School of Law. She is also the co-chair and co-founder of the Massachusetts Bar Association (MBA)’s Law Firm Eco-Challenge, Energy and Environment Task Force, which helps lawyers reduce energy and resource consumption.

Dr. Anthony Robbins
Dr. Robbins is a founder of PHAI,  Professor of Public Health, Tufts University School of Medicine and Co-editor, Journal of Public Health Policy. He has been a faculty member at McGill, the University of Vermont, Dartmouth, the University of Colorado, Georgetown, Johns Hopkins, and Boston University. He has directed the Vermont Department of Health, the Colorado Department of Health, the US National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, and the US National Vaccine Program. At the full House Energy and Commerce Committee, he was the professional staff member for health. In 1981, he was elected President of the American Public Health Association. For five years he edited Public Health Reports, the scientific journal of the US Public Health Service, before moving to Tufts. From 2001 to 2010 he was a member of the steering committee for the project on Scientific Knowledge and Public Policy (SKAPP).